Charles R. Drew University of
Medicine and Science

Dr. Jay Vadgama

  • Vice President for Research and Health Affairs

Clark Atlanta University

Dr. Shafiq Khan

  • Professor, Department of Biological Sciences

Florida A & M University

Dr. Karam F. A. Soliman

  • Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies

Florida International University

Dr. Eric F. Wagner

  • Professor, Stempel College of Public Health & Social Work
  • Director, Community-Based Research Institute

Howard University

Dr. William Southerland

  • Professor of Biochemistry

Jackson State University

Dr. Paul B. Tchounwou

  • RCMI CC - Research Implementation Core
  • RCMI Program Director
  • CSET Associate Dean and Presidential Distinguished Professor

Meharry Medical College

Dr. Samuel E. Adunyah

  • Chair and Professor, Biochemistry and Cancer Biology

Morehouse School of Medicine

Dr. Vincent C. Bond

  • Professor of Microbiology, Biochemistry, and Immunology

Morgan State University

Dr. Hongtao Yu

  • Dean and Professor
  • School of Computer, Mathematical and Natural Sciences

North Carolina Central University

Dr. Deepak Kumar

  • Director, Julius L. Chambers Biomedical
  • Biotechnology Research Institute

Northern Arizona University

Dr. Julie A. Baldwin

  • Regents’ Professor, Department of Health Sciences
  • Director, Center for Health Equity Research (CHER)
  • PI, Southwest Health Equity Research Collaborative (SHERC)

Ponce Health Sciences

Dr. José A. Torres-Ruiz

  • Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Biochemistry)
  • Vice President of Academic Affairs

San Diego State University

Dr. Guadalupe Xochitl Ayala

  • Division of Health Promotion and Behavioral Science
  • Professor and Division Head

Tuskegee University

Dr. Clayton Yates

  • Professor, Department of Biology and Center for Cancer Research

University of California, Riverside

Dr. David Lo

  • Senior Associate Dean, Research
  • Biomedical Sciences
  • Distinguished Professor of Biomedical Sciences

University of Hawaii at Manoa

Dr. Jerris Hedges

  • Dean and Professor of Medicine
  • Barry & Virginia Weinman Endowed Chair

University of Houston

Dr. Ezemenari Obasi

  • Professor & Associate Dean of Research
  • Department of Psychological, Health, & Learning Sciences

University of Puerto Rico
Medical Sciences Campus

Dr. Emma Fernández-Repollet

  • Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology

University of Texas at El Paso

Dr. Robert A. Kirken

  • Professor, Biological Sciences
  • Director, Border Biomedical Research Center (BBRC)
  • Hispanic Health Disparities Research Center
  • Dean, College of Science

Xavier University of Louisiana

Dr. Guangdi Wang

  • Professor of Chemistry



The City College of New York


Hunter College


Texas Southern University


Universidad Central del Caribe


University of Texas at San Antonio


RCMI CC leverages the research infrastructure, resources and expertise of the 18 NIH RCMI-funded institutions that comprise the Network. The major focus is to form multi-institutional research collaborations that focus on addressing health disparities.

Research Centers in Minority Institutions (RCMI) PROGRAM DIRECTORY
Research Centers in Minority Institutions (RCMI) PROGRAM DIRECTORY