MISSION: Ensure that RCMI CC activities meet and exceed standards for regulatory compliance, placing particular emphasis upon meeting federal requirements and addressing privacy issues for health and research-related electronic records at the clinical sites.

The Ethics & Regulatory subcommittee is focused on moving the IRB harmonization efforts for the Network’s 18 RCMI sites, and will continue to implement information sharing opportunities that address compliance areas including IACUC, Biosafety and Research Integrity.

Recent activities

• Implementing IRB Harmonization that will expedite the approval and implementation of multi-site research studies
• Developing RCMI CC IRB Standard Operating Produce (SOP)
• Devising plan to test authorization agreements using the Small Grants Awards Project
• Implemented RCMI CC IRB Café (Compliance Café) webinar series to expand understanding of compliance issues

Abstract : Establishment of IRB Reciprocity in a Multi-Center Translational Research Network. Junko Nishitani, PhD; Zoe H. Hammatt, JD, Mphil; John C. Smith, MSW, CIM, CIP; Brenda J. Klement, PhD; Stephen O. Sodeke, PhD, MA, accepted for display as a poster at PRIM&R’s 2013 Advancing Ethical Research Conference, November 7-9, Boston, MA.


Junko Nishitani, PhD- Charles Drew University of Medicine and Science - junkonishitani@cdrewu.edu

John C. Smith, MSW, CIM, CIP, Morehouse School of Medicine, josmith@msm.edu

Current Members

Emma Fernández-Repollet, PhD – University of Puerto Rico Medical Sciences Campus

Luis Cubano, PhD – Universidad Central del Caribe

Donna Antoine-LaVigne, PhD -Jackson State University

Julio Jiménez, MD – Ponce School of Medicine

Corey Jones, PhD – Meharry Medical College

Sharon Turkovich, PhD – University of Hawaii at Manoa

Daniel Sarpong, PhD – Jackson State University

Winifred Smith, MPH – Morehouse School of Medicine

Carol Szetela, PhD, Meharry Medical School

Homero del Piño, PhD – Charles Drew University of Medicine and Science

Pluscedia Williams – Charles Drew University of Medicine and Science

Nell Forge, PhD- Charles Drew University of Medicine and Science

Connie Dzekov , BA, CCRA, CCRP – Charles Drew University of Medicine and Science